Google Adwords 0808 278 1398 Bing Ads 0808 274 4482

Meet the team: Laura Stocks

Our QualitySolicitors Davisons family just got bigger! We’re thrilled to welcome solicitor Laura Stocks to our Solihull team as a specialist in all family and matrimonial law matters. Before we get to know you as a client, we thought it would be nice if you could get to know Laura. We put her through a quick-fire round of questions. Here’s what she had to say…

As a family solicitor, what does an average day look like for you?

My days are always very varied, depending on my caseload and the type of work I’ve been instructed to carry out. Regardless of the type of case, I always take a firm yet sensitive approach. I know any family or matrimonial law matters can bring a lot of emotions to the fore. It’s important to be pragmatic and to take a human approach too rather than just looking at the black and white of the law.

What are some of the situations where someone would need your advice?

I always like to disarm people by saying that you don’t only need to speak to a family law solicitor if you’re experiencing a stressful situation, like divorce. I also help people who are excited about their future together to plan ahead by putting a cohabitation (living together) or pre-nuptial agreement together. Of course, I also offer advice for people who are looking to separate, work out child arrangements or financial arrangements.

What’s been one of the most rewarding moments of your career?

Given family is always such a central part of our lives, it can be really distressing when that concept of family shifts. Many people are understandably highly emotive when they first come to see me, if they’re going through a separation for example, and feel very lost about what to do next. The best part about my job is knowing I have helped someone through one of the worst possible times of their lives, enabling them to move onto the next chapter.

How do you like to spend your time when you’re not at work?

I’m quite an active person and so love to be outdoors. When I can, I like to travel, ski and rock climb. Spending time with family and friends is always a good mood booster too. I’m also owned by three rabbits and on occasions (when they let me) I volunteer at a local rabbit rescue.

Expert legal advice you can rely on,
get in touch today:

Please let us know you are not a robot