Google Adwords 0808 278 1398 Bing Ads 0808 274 4482

Roles and competencies in Adult Safeguarding

A new intercollegiate publication (with contributors including the Royal College of Nursing, British Association of Social Workers, College of Paramedics and the British Geriatrics Society to name but a few..) sets out a framework for professional competencies around adult safeguarding.

This useful document sets out six levels of health and social care roles, identifying staff roles that fit into each level, for example receptionists and administrative staff in Level 1, registered nurses and care home managers in Level 3 and a Board level for chief executives and directors. Within each level the document then describes the expected core competencies, knowledge, skills, attidues and values that professionals in each Level should demonstrate. The document is available to view here: and the expected standards will be explicitly referred to in our safeguarding training.


If you need further advice or information, contact a member of our Specialist Health and Community Care team today: 01926 491181 or email: 

Expert legal advice you can rely on,
get in touch today:

Please let us know you are not a robot